Professional Profile

Curriculum Vitae

Education and Qualifications

1996: Doctor of Philosophy, Department of Educational Administration.
University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta.
Dissertation title: Fractured paradigms: Preparing teachers for ethnocultural diversity. (Edmonton, 1996, pp. 237.) Supervisor: Dr. E. W. Ratsoy.

1990: Master of Education, Department of Educational Administration.
University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.
Thesis title: A study of selected situational factors which affect the preferred leadership behaviors utilized by principals in effective schools. (Saskatoon, 1990, pp. 155). Supervisor: Dr. J. Pyra.

1988: Bachelor of Education (magna cum laude).
Indian and Northern Education; Native Studies.
University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

1974: Certificate of Education (Cambs.).
Art, Geography, Principles of Education.
Hockerill College of Education, Bishop’s Stortford, Hertfordshire, UK.

Professional Credentials

Professional “A” Teaching Certificate # 5305670 (Saskatchewan)
Registered teacher: England (1975); Papua New Guinea (1976); NWT (1989)

Other Professional Development
SSHRC Imaging Canada’s Future Forum, Ottawa – 2015
IDRC/AUCC Strategic Plan (2015-2020) consultation, Halifax – 2014
Risk Management Workshop, UPEI – 2011
[Risk Sense I: Principles and concepts for risk management in international activities. Presented by Lynne Mitchell, Director of International Centre and International Liaison Officer, University of Guelph]
IDRC/AUCC Policy Dialogue on International Education, Ottawa – 2008
Senior University Administrator’s Course (SUAC), Banff, Alberta – 2007

Professional Memberships
American Educational Research Association
British Educational Leadership, Management and Administration Society
Canadian Society for the Study of Education
Canadian Association for the Study of Educational Administration
Canadian Association for Teacher Education
Commonwealth Council for Educational Administration and Management

Visiting Scholar
2015:     Umeå University, Umeå, Sweden (April / May)
2014:     Harokopio University, Athens, Greece (January)
2009:     Umeå University, Umeå, Sweden (March)
2005:     Umeå University, Umeå, Sweden (March)
2004:     University of Antwerp, Antwerp, Belgium (April)
2003:     Boston College, Boston, Massachusetts, USA (February)

Awards and Scholarships
2010: Appointed to the Canadian Teachers’ Federation Advisory Panel of Academic Experts, 2010-2013

2010: Distinguished Service Award. Presented by the Canadian Society for the Study of Educational Administration.

2009: University of Calgary – appointed Emeritus Professor of Education.

2007:  Canadian Association for Distance Education – Prix pour excellence et innovation dans un partenariat ou collaboration. Presented to Raymond Guy (Collège Boréal), Tim Goddard (University of Calgary) and Victor A. Khouri (TEAM International) for the project, Développement du Leadership des directeurs du Liban.

2006: Government of Papua New Guinea. 30th Anniversary of Independence Medal. Awarded for Services to Education.

2005: Literati Club – “Highly Commended Award” presented for “The role of school leaders in establishing democratic principles in a post-conflict society”, Journal of Educational Administration, 42(6), 685-696.

1998: URPTA – University Research/Publications/Teaching Award, St. Francis Xavier University.

1996:  URPTA – University Research/Publications/Teaching Award, St. Francis Xavier University.

1995: Invited participant, National Graduate Student Research Seminar, University Council in Educational Administration, San Francisco, CA.

1995: Gordon Kaplan Graduate Student Award, University of Alberta.

1994-1995: Izaak Walter Killam Memorial Scholarship, University of Alberta.

1993-1994: University of Alberta Doctoral Scholarship.

1989: University of Saskatchewan – LEADS Award for best thesis in the field of Educational Administration (League of Educational Administrators, Directors and Superintendents of Saskatchewan).

1988-1989: University of Saskatchewan Graduate Scholarship.

1988: Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Prize. (University of Saskatchewan – education graduate with highest standing).